

1 N.W. MLK Jr. Blvd. Room 314 Evansville, Indiana 47708 Missy Mosby, President (812) 453-6479 mmosby@evansville.in.gov

For Immediate Release 11 January 2017

City Council President Appoints Committee Chairs

Evansville, Ind. – Evansville City Council President Missy Mosby announced the 2017 Evansville City Council committee chairs today. Committee chairs are as follows:

Administration, Safety, and Development Committee: Jim Brinkmeyer (6th Ward)

Finance Committee: Dan McGinn (1st Ward)

Public Works: Jonathan Weaver (At-Large)

"I'm excited about the opportunities we have this upcoming year and I'm confident these committee chairs can help provide good leadership," said Mosby. On Monday the City Council unanimously re-elected Mosby as President. The City Council also elected Justin Elpers (5th Ward) as Vice President.

President Mosby hopes to see the City Council consider several new initiatives:

- A review of outdated parking and zoning requirements in an effort to make development easier and streamlined in urban areas.
- Passing a lean and responsible balanced budget that works within the tight revenue available to local government.
- A review of the city's numerous boards and commissions, along with the pay their volunteer members receive.
- An investigation into new ways to fund the Mesker Park Zoo that will help make it a successful and sustainable asset for years to come.

###