## Vanderburgh County Surveyors in Chronological Order

Vanderburgh County was initialy surveyed in 1805 and 1806 by Jacob Fowler. The following list of Vanderburgh County elected Surveyors is taken from the Vanderburgh County Surveyors Record Books and accounts in local newspaper of the times namely the Evansville Journal, the Evansville Courier and the Evansville Press. This list is compiled to the best of knowledge and research however it cannot be deemed conclusive. This list was prepared by Charles E. Alvey II, former employee of the Vanderburgh County Surveyor's Office.

Name	Year Assumed Office	<u>Source</u>
Joseph P. McDowell	June 1819	A History of Evansville and Vanderburgh Co. pg. 132, Jospeh P. Elliott
Gen. Robert M. Evans	May, 1832	Vanderburgh Co. Surveyors Record Book "A" pg. 2. Herein referred to as "A" pg. etc.
John Lindsley	April, 1837	"A" pg. 28
William Whittlesey	June 1844	"A" pg. 72
C. G. Olmsted	August, 1851	"A" pg. 84
Azariah J. Whittlesey	November, 1855	"B" pg. 17
James D. Saunders	November, 1856	"B" pg. 63
J. K. Frick	November, 1860	"B" pg. 168
Charles B. Bateman	June, 1868	"B" pg. 228
J. K. Frick	January, 1862	"C" pg. 1
James D. Saunders	November, 1862	"C" pg. 12
S. C. Rogers	November, 1864	"C" pg. 32
James D. Saunders	May, 1865	"C" pg. 38
Charles B. Bateman	January, 1869	"C" pg. 61
August Pfafflin	June, 1871	"C" pg. 99
James D. Saunders Jr.	December, 1876	"C" pg. 169
August Pfafflin	August, 1880	"C" pg. 215
Robert L. Cowan	December, 1880	"C" pg. 224
George W. Saunders	February, 1883	"C" pg. 256
James D. Saunders	December, 1885	"D" pg. 3
Franklin Sauers	December, 1886	"D" pg. 12

August Pfafflin	June, 1888	"D" pg. 18
Ira A. Fairchild	November, 1890	"D" pg. 28
Charles C. Genung	November, 1892	"D" pg. 38
Fred R. Puder	November, 1896	"D" pg. 167
Charles C. Genung	December, 1898	"D" pg. 183
William H. Temme	November, 1902	"E" pg. 44
J. W. Bedford	January, 1907	"E" pg. 121
August Pfafflin	November, 1908	"E" pg. 134
Julius E. Ehlers	February, 1910	"E" pg. 148
Louis Topf	January, 1911	Evv Courier Nov. 1910
August Pfafflin	January, 1919	Evv Courier Nov. 1918
R.W. Meisinger	January, 1923	Evv Courer Nov. 1922
W. Mack Saunders	January, 1933	Evv Courier Nov. 1932
William L. Hitch	January, 1943	Evv Press Nov. 1942
W. Mack Saunders	January, 1949	Evv Courier, Nov. 1948
Clarence Deeg	January, 1951	Evv Courier Nov. 1950
Richard G. Nussmeyer	January, 1953	Evv Courier Nov. 1952
Sam Biggerstaff	January, 1961	Evv Courier Nov. 1960
Richard G. Nussmeyer	January, 1973	Evv Courier Nov. 1972
Robert Brenner	January, 1977	Evv Press Nov. 1976
Bill Jeffers	January, 2001	Evv Courier Nov. 2000
Jeffery Mueller	January, 2013	Evv Courier Nov 2012
Linda Freeman	January, 2021	Election Results