Superior Court

The Vanderburgh Superior Court was established by the General Assembly in 1877

The Vanderburgh Superior Court is a Court of general jurisdiction, and has seven elected Judges and five Magistrates, who are appointed by the elected Judges. The Court currently employs over 70 employees, which includes Court Reporters, Riding Bailiffs, Bailiffs, Probation Officers, Court Administrators, among others.

The Judges of the Vanderburgh Superior Court are elected to six year terms. Vanderburgh County is one of a few counties in Indiana where the Judges are elected in non-partisan elections, i.e. without party designation. The Judicial Officers and staff take pride in the fact that despite the volume of cases, matters are adjudicated promptly.

Click HERE for Driving Directions